Friday, May 13, 2011

Mt. San Jacinto State Park stays open, 70 others closed

Mt. San Jacinto St Park is not among the 70 state parks to closed over the next 14 month. John Laird, Secretary of the California Department of Natural Resources and Ruth Coleman, Director of California State Parks, announced today Gov. Jerry Brown’s budget reductions proposals which the legislature approved in March will require the agency to close the 70 parks by July 1, 2010.

Use, revenues, significance and ability to ensure no access were all criteria used to determine which of the state’s parks would be closed.

Both laird and Coleman were adamant that this decision was solely based on the March budget decisions. Whatever the governor proposes Monday in his may revised budget will be an additional decision with which they must grapple.

Coleman did say the agency would try to honor all existing reservations at these areas. If a park or campground were closed, State Parks will try to find a comparable and nearby site.

List of 70 park closures:

Anderson Marsh SHP

Annadel SP

Antelope Valley Indian Museum

Austin Creek SRA

Bale Grist Mill SHP

Benbow Lake SRA

Benicia Capitol SHP

Benicia SRA

Bidwell Mansion SHP

Bothe-Napa Valley SP

Brannan Island SRA

California Mining & Mineral Museum

Candlestick Point SRA

Castle Crags SP

Castle Rock SP

China Camp SP

Colusa-Sacramento River SRA

Del Norte Coast Redwoods SP

Fort Humboldt SHP

Fort Tejon SHP

Garrapata SP

George J. Hatfield SRA

Governor's Mansion SHP

Gray Whale Cove SB

Greenwood SB

Grizzly Creek Redwoods SP

Hendy Woods SP

Henry W. Coe SP

Jack London SHP

Jug Handle SNR

Leland Stanford Mansion SHP

Limekiln SP

Los Encinos SHP

Malakoff Diggins SHP

Manchester SP

McConnell SRA

McGrath SB

Mono Lake Tufa SNR

Morro Strand SB

Moss Landing SB

Olompali SHP

Palomar Mountain SP

Petaluma Adobe SHP

Picacho SRA

Pio Pico SHP

Plumas-Eureka SP

Point Cabrillo Light Station

Portola Redwoods SP

Providence Mountains SRA

Railtown 1897 SHP

Russian Gulch SP

Saddleback Butte SP

Salton Sea SRA

Samuel P. Taylor SP

San Pasqual Battlefield SHP

Santa Cruz Mission SHP

Santa Susana Pass SHP

Shasta SHP

South Yuba River SP

Standish-Hickey SRA

Sugarloaf Ridge SP

Tomales Bay SP

Tule Elk SNR

Turlock Lake SRA

Twin Lakes SB

Weaverville Joss House SHP

Westport-Union Landing SB

William B. Ide Adobe SHP

Woodson Bridge SRA

Zmudowski SB

No comments:

Post a Comment

report blog violators